Quick Update!

It’s been a very long time since I last updated and quite a bit has happened since then! Sometime between Christmas and mid-January, I was starting to feel the strain. Between school, work as a tutor, and the frenzied, stressful search for an internship in the Spring, I sort of shut down. I was so focused on perfecting techniques and understanding methods, that I found it much more difficult than usual to create.

I searched for inspiration in recipes from favorite cookbooks, I scribbled notes on menus from potential internship sites, but nothing was really clicking. I was uninspired and deeply unimpressed with what I was creating at home. So I took a break. I enjoyed my time with Anden, got closer with some of the students in my block at school, and focused on securing an internship. Today, I’m proud to announce that I have begun my six month internship at Hen of the Wood in Waterbury, VT! Hen-of-the-Wood I really wanted to find a restaurant that shared my farm to table values and would inspire and challenge me creatively. I found everything I could hope for and more in Chef John David and Hen. The menu is constantly changing based on availability of ingredients from local farms. They had Anden and I for dinner back in February and we were blown away by the presentation and quality of dishes. At the time, I thought about taking some pictures, but decided I didn’t want to be *that* person in the dining room, and just enjoyed the food instead. Now that I’m looking back, I wish I had taken more pictures to share with everyone, but I’ll have six months to catch up!

In other exciting news, I recently expanded my kitchen! DSCN3420 Thanks to the organizational geniuses at Ikea, things have finally come together and I’m really happy with the final product. With an extra shelf, I can finally free up some space on top of my fridge and in the cabinets. It was getting a little scary up there.

One final thing before we return next Monday (I know, how could there possibly be more?): I got a new camera! I’ve been eyeing a DSLR since about October and at long last, I’m snapping new pictures with it. I actually have a few new recipes lined up, so you can expect something next week!

See you then!

Love, Beth

Leave a Reply

